And David Danced Before The Lord


Just a few days shy of one month since David began his new journey, each of us has begun the grieving process in our own way. While some have busied themselves with tasks and to do lists, I have been doing a lot of reading. It’s not surprising to me, really. I read when I’m bored, I read for entertainment and I read to learn.

I have been learning a lot lately from people who are traveling this path ahead of me. I’ve read stories where families have been crushed under the weight of grief, guilt and sorrow. I’ve also read about families who have become closer and stronger despite the tragedy in their lives. I hope that we fall into the second example.

In my daily musings, I’ve also turned to scripture; I have always found strength and comfort in the church, both the people and the Word. While others may shake their fist and curse God for taking their child, I have not. I have questions. Lots of questions that cannot be answered in books or on the internet, but I also have a feeling of comfort that one day I’ll understand why it was necessary. It’s easy to become self-centered and wonder why this had to happen to me. To us. To David. Why was his life so short while others are so long?

I draw some comfort knowing that David’s focus was on God. While his best friend is Jewish, David knew what it meant to be a Christian. He also knew that they had different beliefs and practices, but it didn’t matter to him. In fact, David considered himself half-Jewish; he couldn’t be full Jewish because he wanted to wrestle, play basketball and football and the games happened on Saturday. His friend couldn’t participate because of Shabbat. Of course, he didn’t know that he could join other leagues that didn’t have games during Shabbat.

David also enjoyed reading his bible every night. He would collect all of the crucifixes and crosses in the house and hang them in his room. He liked having them around him; they gave him comfort. David loved going to church and he always wanted to sit in the very first pew so he can see everything. We would always compromise by sitting a few rows back, but allowed him the aisle so he could see around the taller adults. He also enjoyed Sunday school and was always eager to tell us about what he learned. At home, we called him Father David, because he liked to lead us in prayer before dinner. He would laugh, but we think he liked it.

As I continue to ask questions and learn, I realize that my young son has been teaching me all along. That a childlike love for God (Matthew 19:14) and the acceptance and respect of others beliefs, is the true practice of “…loving the Lord our God with all our heart and with all our soul and with all our strength and with all our mind, and your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27 ESV)

While I await grace and understanding, I can smile at the beautiful lyrics from Danni and Lizzy’s “Dancing In The Sky”:

I hope you’re dancing in the sky,
And I hope you’re singing in the angel’s choir,
And I hope the angels know what they have,
I’ll bet it’s so nice up in heaven since you arrived,

 

Just like King David, who danced before the Ark of the Covenant in 2 Samuel 6:14, our David is dancing before the Lord. He’s probably also telling Him all about Eminem and Doctor Who.

I love that kid…

 

16 comments

  1. I, too, hope this tragedy brings us all closer, for comfort, for support, but most of all because we are family. But you are right, David is dancing and singing with The Lord, in such peace that surpasses all human understanding. What joy that brings to me. He will be our guide when we finally attain the promised reward. I personally hold that thought close to my heart everyday!

    1. Thank you, Ellen.

  2. Lenora Bearer · · Reply

    Thanks for posting this, Skip. May David’s memory be eternal.

    1. Thank you, Lenora.

  3. Kay Parden · · Reply

    So beautifully said.God bless you all as you await that wonderful time when you will see David again. Kay Parden.

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  4. Anonymous · · Reply

    I am so sorry you are having to deal with such horrible problems in your life. Wish I had known your sweet son. I am sure he was just as precious as you were at his age?!

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  5. Beautifully written and spot on!

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  6. Beautiful, Skip! I know with your faith in The Lord that you and your family will grow closer and learn to love more fully from this tragedy. David is dancing with for The Lord and watching over all of you.

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  7. Lisa Rinaldi (Pam's cousin) · · Reply

    Your courage and faith are awe-inspiring. I am thinking of all of you with love.

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  8. Beth (a friend of Pam's) · · Reply

    The fact that you have touched so many people with your moving tribute to David, is an indication that God has you on the path that He intended. The next time I’m faced with grief, I’ll remember your words I’ve read today. Thank you.

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

To Know Her

Daydream Believer

Radiate Food Vibes

clean eating | health & balance | good vibes

They're Only Words...

...but you should use them properly!

Greenwich Lane

Sharing our love affair with food and life

Ronin Sherpa

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Micha Shines Fitness

Strength. Endurance. Life. Love.

STEAMED!

Writing Steampunk Fiction

Faari

My life - my Opinions

Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

