And The Winner Is…


Late last night, I received notice from the charming and talented Veronica Bennett that your favorite blogger (that’s me, I am your favorite, right?) has been nominated for the prestigious Liebster Blog Award. Now, I’m not sure if this is the same as being nominated for an Academy Award, a Grammy, or to be “it” in a game of hide-and-seek. I think the honor is in the nomination. However, if there’s going to be an awards banquet, I need to hustle down to the local tuxedo rental and obtain a full-tailed suit complete with top hat.

While I’m on hold, waiting to schedule a fitting, I’ll take this time to explain the simple rules that I received with the nomination. First, I’m to list eleven random facts about myself. Second, I’ll answer the eleven given questions.  Next, I’ll create eleven new questions. Finally, I’ll select eleven of my favorite bloggers to nominate for the Liebster Blog Award.

If you get bored while reading this, check out Veronica’s page at http://www.guardianssaga.com/  and her Twitter @GuardiansBook.

 

11 Random Facts About Me

1. When I write, I like to listen to Tool or The Beatles. I’m listening to The Beatles as I write this…

2. I made my stage debut in my first grade class production of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. I played the title role of Rudolph, and performed so well that I have never taken the stage again. “Quit while you’re ahead,” 17th Century’s Baltasar Gracian said. “Always leave them wanting more,” Walt Disney also said.

3. I once played rhythm guitar in the world’s greatest cover band that never took the stage. Our concept was conceived during an evening of drunkenness and tomfoolery. We observed the house band at a local pub and thought to ourselves, “Hey! We can do that!” Sadly, our Rock Star dreams never came to fruition, but we made an awesome logo!

4. I love black Jelly Beans and black licorice. My favorite candy is Good and Plenty and Licorice Allsorts from the UK.

5. Though my heritage is a mix of Irish-Scottish-English with a smattering of German-French-Native American, I’m a total Anglophile. I love me some Doctor Who, Luther, all versions of Sherlock Holmes, Monty Python, Downton Abbey, Shameless…can I stop now? Most of my favorite classic authors were British and I love the 1980s British Invasion Rock (Duran Duran, Flock of Seagulls, The Cure, etc…).

6. My favorite place in the world, to this point, is in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. I love the mountain views, the cedar, pine, and fir trees. The Christmas Tree farms are an awesome site. I visit every chance I get and I’m working toward a permanent residence in the near future.

7. I’m an awesome cook. In another life, I would’ve been a belligerent master chef on your nearest reality show.

8. While in elementary school, I was kicked out of the school choir for misbehaving at a performance at the state capitol. For some reason, the principal didn’t inform my parents. I definitely wasn’t going to tell them, so I needed to sign up for something that met before school, at the same time as choir. My only option was Modern Dance. I was the only guy in that class and let me tell you, no one can box-step and shimmy better than me!

9. I bought my first legal beer in Louisiana when I was eighteen. I bellied up to the bar and said to the bartender, “I’ll have a beer.” You know, like they do in the movies. She sighed, rolled her eyes, and asked, “What kind of beer?” I guess she’d heard that one before.

10. If I was a crayon, I’d be purple. Not Barney purple, or Minnesota Vikings purple but more like Baltimore Ravens purple.

11. I’m out of randoms; drawing a blank. I’ll think of one before I finish…

 

And now to answer Veronica’s Questions

 

1. What is your favorite quote?

“Man, unlike any other thing organic or inorganic in the universe, grows beyond his work, walks up the stairs of his concepts, emerges ahead of his accomplishments.” – John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath

2. If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

I would be a Luck Dragon, like the one in The Neverending Story.

3. If you could go on one trip, all expenses paid, for two days, where would you go and what would you do there?

I’d go to England and explore all of the Roman-era ruin sites that I could in two days.

4. What is your idea of the ideal day? How would you spend it?

Quiet with no major drama or setbacks. I have two teens, so it will be many years before I can expect this to occur. When it does happen, I’d read a book. If the weather is agreeable, I might take a walk, or sit in a park and watch the clouds crawl across the blue sky.

5. If I gave you an elephant, where would you hide it?

I wouldn’t hide it. I would name him George, and I would hug him and pet him and squeeze him…everyone will be jealous of my elephant named George.

6. What is the one day of your life you will never forget?

The day we were involved in a major car accident. Don’t text and drive, friends. We were fortunate that no one was lost that Thanksgiving Day evening.

7. What is the one day you wish you could forget?

None. However, there are days that I wish I could remember.

8. If you could spend a day with anyone in the world, dead or alive, who would it be?

Muhammad Ali

9. If you had to live the rest of your life eating only one food, what would it be?

Chicken soup with rice.

10. If you live one week in another century, which would you choose?

Late 19th Century.

11. Where do you see yourself in 3 years?

In a mirror or any other shiny, reflective object. 🙂

 

Questions for my fellow Nominees

 

1. What was your favorite childhood book?

2. Spaghetti: al dente or well done?

4. Coke or Pepsi?

5. Who’s your favorite author (besides me, of course)?

6. Can you share a fond memory of a holiday gathering from your life?

7. Remember in Algebra class, Chapter 8 Section 5? What was the answer to number 11?

8. Name a movie that you liked more than the book.

9. If you had psychic powers and could see the future, would you put the skill to good use and warn people when they are in the path of disaster or would you use the skill to play the lottery and bet on championship games?

10. Will there be an actual awards banquet for the Liebster Blog Award?

11. When writing a novel, do you work from an outline? Write chapter by chapter? Or free write and separate the chapters later?

Enjoy this awesome video as I select 11 of my favorite bloggers to nominate. After which, I will begin to write my acceptance speech in the likelihood that I actually win the Liebster Blog Award.

 

One more random: I have yet to watch a single Harlem Shake video!

2 comments

  1. It’s fantastic!

    1. I’m glad you approve! Thanks for the nomination. 🙂 Good luck with your book…

Leave a Reply

To Know Her

Daydream Believer

Radiate Food Vibes

clean eating | health & balance | good vibes

They're Only Words...

...but you should use them properly!

Greenwich Lane

Sharing our love affair with food and life

Ronin Sherpa

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Micha Shines Fitness

Strength. Endurance. Life. Love.

STEAMED!

Writing Steampunk Fiction

Faari

My life - my Opinions

