Failing at NaNoWriMo: A Third and Final Time


I’d like to say that I haven’t been blogging because I’ve been busy writing my novel in The Cannonball Run for Internet writers called NaNoWriMo. November has consistently proven to be the busiest month for me, and this year didn’t disappoint. Well, actually, it did…but let’s just say that I was surprised by my inability to find time to sit and write, and write, and write…

Maybe it’s an excuse, or a cop-out, I don’t know. For me, trying to write a novel in a month is like trying to run a marathon without putting in the training miles. Really, it’s like trying to run a 5K everyday after working eight hours and sitting in traffic for two or more hours. It’s also like trying to climb Mt. Everest when you barely use the incline on the treadmill.

Fortunately, I haven’t been too busy to read. I know what you’re thinking, if you have time to read, you have time to write, right? Well, not really. I can find small windows of time throughout my day to read. And interruptions do not affect my reading time like it can when I’m trying to write.

I finished two really good stories since the beginning of November. One, I began reading a while back, but finished a few days ago. And the other, I read within two weeks. I have since picked up a third that I intend to finish over Thanksgiving Weekend. Check them out below; maybe you’ll like them, too.

Getting Lucky by Bob Sanchez

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore: A Novel by Robin Sloan

The Sherlockian by Graham Moore

One comment

  1. […] 2012, I wrote about failing at NaNoWriMo and, at that time, I resigned myself to the fact that it cannot be done […]

Leave a Reply

To Know Her

Daydream Believer

Radiate Food Vibes

clean eating | health & balance | good vibes

They're Only Words...

...but you should use them properly!

Greenwich Lane

Sharing our love affair with food and life

Ronin Sherpa

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Micha Shines Fitness

Strength. Endurance. Life. Love.

STEAMED!

Writing Steampunk Fiction

Faari

My life - my Opinions

Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

